Librarian Subject Specialist
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Shields Library, 3rd Floor
Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ABG 202: Animal Biology -- Grant Writing | Table of Contents
TABLE OF CONTENTS (Click on blue links to jump to each section)
Animal Biology Library Collections
UC Davis has the most extensive organismal animal research library collections in the University of California Library system. Animal biology research crosses over multiple departmental lines at UC Davis so library resources supporting not just the UCD Animal Biology Graduate Group but also the departments of Animal Science, Entomology, Evolution & Ecology, Nematology, Wildlife, Fish & Conservation Biology as well as School of Veterinary Medicine may be useful to animal biology researchers. In addition, there is cross-interest with the graduate level collections supporting the Center for Population Biology, and graduate programs in Animal Behavior, Avian Sciences, and Integrated Pest Management.
The UCD Libraries selectively buy materials on grant writing in the sciences and in general. Browsable subject headings for institutions which award grants include: Endowments -- Directories ; Scholarships -- Directories; Charitable uses, trusts, and foundations etc. For resources on writing styles and general writing for grants use the subject headings: Proposal writing for grants ; Proposal writing in biology ; Proposal writing in medicine ; Proposal writing in research etc.
NOTE: Books that continually update on funders of grants may be found in the BioAg Reference collection, 3rd floor Shields.
Print Grantseeking resources
There are three principle sources for finding grants/scholarships for students:
I. UCD Library print directories/handbooks -- often in Reference collections (may cover all disciplines or be discipline-based) II. subscriptions to services (e.g. "COS Pivot Community of Science") [See next resource just below] III. web sites [See grantseeking guides section of course guide]
I. PRINT LIBRARY REFERENCE RESOURCES -- BioAg Reference collection, 3rd floor Shields Library
The Foundation Center is the primary national clearinghouse on grant-making by private, charitable, community and corporate foundations.
Some titles are specifically for grants for individuals. The following titles are in the BioAg Reference collection so cannot be checked out but photocopies can be made from it. When in the Harvest Catalog and bring up these records, notice all of the linkable subject headings below that may be useful to find additional print tools, such as "Endowments -- United States -- Directories".
1) Foundation grants to individuals / Phyllis Edelson, editor. Edition 19th ed. Published [New York] : Foundation Center, c2010. Call no. Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference LB2336 .F598 2010 Lib Use Only
Contents Introduction -- Federal laws and grants to individuals -- Scholarships and grants to individuals : where to find them -- Glossary -- Abbreviations -- Resources for individual grantseekers : a bibliography -- Resources of the Foundation Center -- Foundation Center cooperating collections -- Descriptive directory -- Appendix -- Indexes. Subject Endowments -- United States -- Directories. Learning and scholarship -- United States -- Directories. Student loans -- United States -- Directories. Endowments -- Directories. Scholarships -- Directories. Student loans -- Directories. Charitable uses, trusts, and foundations.
2) Environmental grantmaking foundations : directory. Rochester, NY : Environmental Data Research Institute, c1992- UCD Shields GE80.E58 Bio/Ag Reference 2005. (Comes out about every 10 yrs)
3) Peterson's scholarships, grants & prizes 2011 /[Mark D. Snider, editor].. Lawrenceville, NJ : Peterson's, c2010. Bought by BioAg Ref but in UCD Shields H/SS Reference LB2337.4 .P475 2010
4) Annual register of grant support. New Providence [etc.] R.R. Bowker [etc.] UCD BioAg Reference Q180 U5 A15 2014 (latest issue), Current in SHIELDS
MORE PRINT GRANT RESOURCES at Humanities/Social Sciences Reference collection, 2nd floor Shields Library
5) The Grants register. Chicago : St. James Press, c1969- UCD Shields H/SS Reference LB2338 G75 latest edition 2014 [This has an European focus]
6) Directory of financial aids for women. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Reference Service Press, 1978-. UCD Shields H/SS Reference HQ1381 .S36 Current issue- 2012/2014
Data Management Plans for Grants
Library subject bibliographic databases are a rich resource for conducting your literature reviews. Any of the following databases may be the primary resource for a particular Animal Biology research area but often 3-4 databases may be needed to conduct the most comprehensive literature review.
Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties. NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution.