Librarian Subject Specialist
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Shields Library, 3rd Floor
Phone: (530) 752‑1883
EndNote Online versions and other bibliographic management software
Although EndNote Online is free to all UCD full-time students, some may be interested in other bibliographic management software programs including some that are open-access. Wikipedia has an extensive comparison table for over 35 bibliographic/reference management software products at:
Many of the software vendors also have their own comparison tables or charts.
A simpler version of EndNote Online called EndNote Basic is available freely to all.
From the following EndNote webpage, scroll down to the gray section labeled "Compare features and capacity" to find a table comparing features available in EndNote Basic versus EndNote desktop/Online versions:
EndNote Online Intro for Undergraduates | Table of Contents
TABLE OF CONTENTS (Click on blue links to jump to each section)
1) What Is EndNote Online?
EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web) facilitates collaborative work and using EndNote Online from any internet-accessible location in the world. After installing a Word plug-in on your computer, you can "Cite While You Write" from EndNote Online.
2) EndNote Online at UC Davis
EndNote Online X7
Author: Thomson Reuters
Set up for EndNote Online by 1) creating a Web of Science account or by 2) setting up an EndNote Online account directly through EndNote
For BIS 98, you will be doing the first option.
3) Preparing Your EndNote Online Library
Before you get started with EndNote Online, you will need to add some plug-ins to enable your Exporting features to work and to set up Microsoft Word for the in-text citing or "Cite While You Write" (CWYW) feature.
4) Adding References to Your EndNote Online Library
You can only create one library in EndNote Online but you use the Groups option to set up topical segregations of your library. Your EndNote Online library can contain an unlimited number of references. You may then have up to 5,000 custom groups in your library. With one large library you can search across the entire library, no matter how many groups you have.
There are several different methods to bring references into your EndNote Online Library. For BIS 98, we will just cover the Direct Export option from the Web of Science interface and searching in BIOSIS Previews or the Web of Science Core Collection database.
Direct Export for BioAg Related Databases
Most UCD licensed BioAg subject databases enable one to *directly* export source bibliographic information from the database into your EndNote Library. This is the most efficient method for building a large EndNote library very quickly.
EndNote Online works directly with Web of Science databases (such as BIOSIS Previews) and with EBSCO databases (such as Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide or SPORTDiscus or Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide)
CLASS EXERCISE: Search BIOSIS Previews and add appropriate references to your EndNote Online Library.
5) Choosing Favorite Publication Styles
Using your EndNote Online library, take a look at publication styles which are available by going to Format menu and choosing Bibliography.
CLASS EXERCISE: Set up three favorite styles, including CSE C-S
6) EndNote Online Cite While You Write (CWYW)
EndNote Online’s Cite While You Write (CWYW) feature inserts EndNote commands into Word’s Tools menu (or on an EndNote tab in Word 2007 and 2010 for Windows). This provides you with direct access to your EndNote Online references while writing in Microsoft Word. CWYW commands enable EndNote Online to implement bibliographic formatting to the document that is currently open in Word.
CLASS EXERCISE: Keep EndNote Online Library open and open MS Word. Paste a paragraph of any text (an abstract from a citation in your library works well) into MS Word and pick a favorite style for your discipline.
EndNote Online Help
Before requesting help, first search the EndNote FAQ collection, the EndNote (software) KnowledgeBase collection, or look for an appropriate YouTube EndNote training video, online training, or webinar (see links below).
If you have strictly EndNote installation questions, contact UCD IT Express for assistance at 530-754-HELP (4357), Monday - Friday, 7am-9pm.
If you still have EndNote questions, your course instructor (listed at the top of this Library Course Guide) is your first person to contact. If your instructor is not available, a team of UCD librarians work with EndNote users and may be contacted by email. See the last link below.
As part of the UC Davis license with EndNote, technical support is available from the vendor. Years of experience of UCD librarians indicates that the most prompt and useful vendor assistance is provided by phone. If you still need assistance after trying all steps below, please call the EndNote tech help Monday-Friday, 6am-5pm Pacific Time, 800-336-4474 and at the prompt press 4, and then select the "ResearchSoft Products" option.
EndNote for the iPad
EndNote iPad was just released in early 2013. This is still a first generation of the iPad version but it is worth exploring for iPad users. As of Summer 2013, there are no iPad specific FAQs and are only a few articles in the EndNote Knowledge Base. PLEASE NOTE: since EndNote is not affiliated with Apple, you will need to pay the app download fee at the iTunes store. Currently this is $3.99 (July 2014).
iPhone ALERT: If you have your EndNote Web/Online account set up, you can download an EndNote iPhone app.
Author: Thomson Reuters