Last Updated: Jul 29, 2014
This guide contains resources that focus exclusively on archival research and ebooks It should be used in conjunction with the HISTORY SUBJECT GUIDE where many other archive-related resources and full-text collections may be found (see link in "Related Guides" box).
- Online Archive of California (OAC) [via California Digital Library]
The OAC includes searchable finding aids for archival collections held in more than 200 California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. It also includes scanned images and documents from these collections.
- ArchiveGrid [via OCLC]
ArchiveGrid is a database designed specifically for locating archival collections held in libraries, museums and other institutions (mostly located in the United States). It combines all the archival records in WorldCat with others pulled from various archives' Web sites. Included are all of the item records added to the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) after 1987, as well as many records from earlier years. (NUCMC includes records added before 1987, especially of smaller archives, that are not found in ArchiveGrid.)
- Archives Portal Europe
"The Archives Portal Europe provides access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent."
- Archives Hub
"The Archives Hub enables you to search across descriptions of archives held at over 250 institutions across the UK. "
- Historical Research in Europe: A Guide to Archives and Libraries [University of Wisconsin, Madison]
This is a good starting place when you want to identify European Archives of interest for your research.
- Fresh From the Archives
On this site scholars describe their recent experiences working in archives around the world. Their descriptions and tips are valuable for anyone planning an research trip. The site also contains news and reviews of specific archives.
- In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives
Contains indexing of more than 4,000 collections of oral history in English from around the world for a total of 700,000 pages of full-text by more than 18,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to some 4,300 audio and video files and 30,000 bibliographic records. Much but not all of this material is freely available.
phone: (530) 752-2040
Office: 2nd floor Shields Library
PLEASE GET IN TOUCH
if you have a question or to make an appointment.Send Email