Librarian Subject Specialist
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Shields Library, 3rd Floor
Phone: (530) 752‑1883
Science Faculty: Creating Library Assignments to Enhance Science Students Learning | Table of Contents
TABLE OF CONTENTS (Click on blue links to jump to each section)
Your Experiences ... The best and the frustrating
With a partner, take 3-4 minutes to discuss your experiences as an undergraduate or graduate student and any assignments which required library research:
1) describe a positive experience with library assignments
2) describe a frustrating experience with library assignments
For each team, pick one "best" example for each category and the member to share each of these.
Information literacy; information competency, information fluency ... a rose by any other name ...
Get to Know Your Subject Specialist Librarian
CO-INSTRUCTOR: Library Assignments to Enhance Student Learning in the Sciences, Ruth Gustafson -- firstname.lastname@example.org
As a major university research library, the University of California Davis University Library has librarians assigned to each department, major, professional school and research center at UCD. These Subject Specialist Librarians:
* Assist Faculty with library components to integrate with instructional technology & research technology (including Canvas & EndNote)
* Provide focused presentations for classes, research groups, centers, labs (@ campus locale or library)
* Buy library materials in your discipline(s) including materials for your Class Reserves
* Provide consultations at the library, or in departments, about your key library resources and databases
Scientific Publication Cycle
Sample Library Research pre-test
Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties.
NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution. Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in ... ; Annual Review of ...; Critical Reviews in ... ; Current Opinion in ... ; Expert Reviews in ... ; International Review of ... ; Progress in ... ; Trends in ...
Peer-Reviewed Journal Databases
A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality -- by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor -- before being accepted for publication.
ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO and PAIS) include a checkbox to limit to "Peer Reviewed" articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black symbol indicating the publication is "Refereed".
The majority of literature databases licensed by the UC/UCD libraries has a feature called Alert or Update. This is a current awareness feature which enables you to store searches on your favorite topic(s) and set up automated email alerts/updates when new literature has been published matching these search topic(s).
Don't forget to explore resources under the EDUCATION subject guide -- literature and tools to help you as a new(er) instructor.
Did you know? If the UC Davis University Library doesn't subscribe to or own a publication you need for either your teaching or research needs, you can get a FREE copy from anywhere in the world? This service is called InterLibrary Loan and is available to all faculty, students and staff at UCD -- just use the REQUEST button from UC-eLInks or UCD-eLinks as noted in the link description below.
PLEASE NOTE: If your item requires a one-time purchase, your librarian subject specialist may even buy the item to add to the UC Davis University Library collection. Your input is valuable to building the breadth of the UCD library collection in your area -- for you and your students!